Rating Thread Options
Coconut Oil- Healing Crisis- Herxheimer reaction
Post: #1 Coconut Oil- Healing Crisis- Herxheimer reaction , 10-24-2011 12:46 PM

Advanced Low-Carber

I have been using coconut oil to cook with for years. I use it in the place of butter or any other oil and eat items cooked with the oil several times a day. A couple of weeks ago I decided to go back to using IF in order to get off a few pounds that I have gained. I decided to use coconut oil this time to keep me from bieng hungry. I am a teacher and IF in the morning and afternoon while I am at school and then will eat an evening meal with my family. I figured I could put the coconut oil in my coffee and keep my energy up during the day.

I did fine the first week, then last week I broke out in a bad rash. Many people have told me that they think it is a healing crisis from the coconut oil. That my body is killing off toxins faster than it can get rid of them basically. Anyway, it has been a week and I still have the rash. It has not gotten any better. I decided to quit the coconut oil for a while and have not had any in 3 days but it is still not any better. I have been trying to do things to reduce the symptoms like is mentioned here:
http://www.earthincommon.com/candida_01-article.html

I am still not having any luck. Has anyone had experience with this before? I was having alot of success with weight loss with the coconut oil and IF, and I really want to get back on it, but I need this rash to go away. It is on my neck and chest and is visible. Being a teacher I need to get rid of it, but I cannot seem to do anything to make it any better. I was hoping someone had some ideas. Everyone wants me to go to the doctor but I do not feel that he will be able to help me with this.

[Image: 56026.png]
Quote this message in a reply
Post: #2 RE: Coconut Oil- Healing Crisis- Herxheimer reaction , 10-24-2011 02:07 PM
(This post was last modified: 10-26-2011 06:00 AM by tedhutchinson.)

Expert Low-Carber