Rating Thread Options
erythritol

Junior Low-Carber

I've been doing low carb for a few months and find myself hankering for a little sweetness, so I purchased some erythritol to make some low carb ice-cream. For the first time in many months, I'm feeling hmmm.... unsatisfied. Now I'm worried the erythritol is messing up my blood sugar/insulin response.

Has anyone used erythritol? If so, did you experience weight gain or other symptoms?

I haven't really had many cravings sweets, but when I started reading recipes with erythritol in them I thought it might be a nice change of pace; therefore, the "hankering" not "craving."
Quote this message in a reply

Advanced Low-Carber

I do not have any problems with it and neither does my daughter. I have lost 45 pounds using it and I think it helps me to lose weight because I don't really crave, but I just LOVE dessert and it is nice to be able to have it once in a while.

[Image: 56026.png]

Unregistered

(10-17-2009 07:57 PM)Boudi Wrote:  I've been doing low carb for a few months and find myself hankering for a little sweetness, so I purchased some erythritol to make some low carb ice-cream. For the first time in many months, I'm feeling hmmm.... unsatisfied. Now I'm worried the erythritol is messing up my blood sugar/insulin response.

Has anyone used erythritol? If so, did you experience weight gain or other symptoms?

I haven't really had many cravings sweets, but when I started reading recipes with erythritol in them I thought it might be a nice change of pace; therefore, the "hankering" not "craving."

There should be no physiological reason for problems with erythritol. It is the only sugar alcohol that is absorbed to the bloodstream and is not significantly metabolized by humans. If I recall correctly, it has 0.2 cal/g. Now if eating "sweets" triggers something, that's another story, but this shouldn't play with your BG/insulin levels.

This seems to be a much better alternative to maltitol, sorbitol, etc.