Restaurant Review: Red Robin
Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 04-28-2008 08:04 PM


Moderator


Quote:pazinhim Oct 29 2007, 3:14pm

Did you know you could order any of Red Robin's hamburgers a la low carb? They wrap it in a lettuce leaf for you and of course, hold the fries.

Quote:karishma Oct 29 2007, 4:04pm

The trick is staying away from the endless fries...

Quote:LindaSue Oct 30 2007, 7:37am

They recently opened a Red Robin here in the Houston area but I haven't tried it yet. I did have some fun playing with the Burgerizer on their website though. You can create your own custom burger.

I just created this low carb monster:


My sites:
Linda's Low Carb Menus & Recipes
In the Kitchen with Linda Blog
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 06-12-2008 08:48 AM


Newbie Low-Carber


I LOVE going to Red Robin and DS thinks it's a big deal!! I usually order the Cobb Salad w/ Ranch dressing, but the next time we go, I'm ordering the Bleu Cheese Burger - sans buns!! OR maybe I'll do like Ms Cleochatra and smuggle my own Oopsies in with me!!

Angie
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 06-12-2008 09:21 AM


Junior Low-Carber


I am soooo hungry right now! we have one up in KC....I will have to try it!
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 06-12-2008 09:31 AM


Expert Low-Carber


Red Robin will substitute a side salad for the fries if you ask. I get my burger with a bun and discard the buns as sometimes I want the pickle, tomato, etc. they put on the bun version.

It is ALL about the insulin. Everyone knows that but 'can't we all get along' Ornish. Atkins got it. Ornish doesn't have a clue.
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-03-2008 01:56 PM


Expert Low-Carber


The kids and I just ate at Red Robin yesterday. I always get the Ensenada Chicken with ranch dressing. I almost got the burger because I really wanted to go to Carl's Jr. My kids requested RR. I am having a difficult time dealing with change for some weird reason. I always take the same driving routes, I park in the same spots at the mall. I always get the Ensenada Chicken when I go to RR so I was a little "Monkish", and I got the chicken instead. Darn those habits.
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-05-2008 10:39 PM


Expert Low-Carber


black57 Wrote:The kids and I just ate at Red Robin yesterday. I always get the Ensenada Chicken with ranch dressing. I almost got the burger because I really wanted to go to Carl's Jr. My kids requested RR. I am having a difficult time dealing with change for some weird reason. I always take the same driving routes, I park in the same spots at the mall. I always get the Ensenada Chicken when I go to RR so I was a little "Monkish", and I got the chicken instead. Darn those habits.

I LOVE MONK!!! He's such a interesting freak of nature.

Shari
348 HW/ 229.5 CW/ 140/GW





To get What you have Never Had, YOU must do what you have never done.


RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-06-2008 01:51 AM


Junior Low-Carber


I have never seen or heard of a Red Robin. I will have to see if there is one anywhere around here.
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-06-2008 02:11 AM


Expert Low-Carber


swatkins Wrote:I LOVE MONK!!! He's such a interesting freak of nature.

My fave Monk promo is where he is having a perfect dream. In his dream all the clouds become perfect squares. Actually, it is my daughter that is the major Monk fan. I think that I have seen 3 eepisodes all the way through.
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-06-2008 08:33 AM


Moderator


Red Robin is coming to my neighborhood! They are building a new store here right now, should be open in the next month or so I think. Always excited about another low-carb restaurant option.

Ron aka "The Former Donut Junkie"



My Life Without Donuts Blog
My FaceBook Page
The Just This One Taste rationalization is the Kiss of Death to the success of your journey to healthy living! ~~Dr. Atkins
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-06-2008 11:11 PM


Expert Low-Carber


Actually, every restaurant should have low carb options if they consider themeslves a good restaurant. There are vegans, vegetarians, people with extended illnesses, and people who just don't like cheese. Restaurants must be able to satisfy. We even have an Italian restaurant that offeres the choice of a vegetable or pasta. They ask if you would like bread. That's the way all restaurants should be. When it comes to choices in food, all men and women were not created equally. Restaurants must become competitive by recoginizing this fact. I wish though that they would begin to also focus on some lc desserts. Strawberries with unsweetened whipped cream, LC creme broulee, sugarfree cheese cake sound really good to me at any restaurant.
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-15-2008 03:06 PM


Newbie Low-Carber


FormerDonutJunkie Wrote:Red Robin is coming to my neighborhood! They are building a new store here right now, should be open in the next month or so I think. Always excited about another low-carb restaurant option.

RR is more a low-carb minefield. You will find few
really good choices there. Of course any restaurant
is managable, but I would not call that place easy.

/mike/
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-15-2008 03:22 PM


Senior Low-Carber


mike_mcginn Wrote:RR is more a low-carb minefield. You will find few
really good choices there. Of course any restaurant
is managable, but I would not call that place easy.

/mike/

Agreed. I have to be seriously strong and in the best mindset to eat at RR. I haven't been doing VLC long enough to easily eschew my old "treats"!



RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-16-2008 01:15 AM


Expert Low-Carber


Red Robin isn't the first thing that comes to my mind when I want to eat low carb. As a matter of fact, it isn't the second nor third thing that I think about. But, when my kids want to go to RR more than life itself, I am ready to go. I know what to order without a lot of silly debating.
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-16-2008 07:36 AM


Moderator


OK, all you veteran Red Robin patrons will have to enlighten us who havent' been there yet. Red Robin will soon be opening here in Knoxville, so we want to know what the best low-carb 'bargains' are.

Ron aka "The Former Donut Junkie"



My Life Without Donuts Blog
My FaceBook Page
The Just This One Taste rationalization is the Kiss of Death to the success of your journey to healthy living! ~~Dr. Atkins
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-16-2008 09:37 AM


Expert Low-Carber


FormerDonutJunkie Wrote:OK, all you veteran Red Robin patrons will have to enlighten us who havent' been there yet. Red Robin will soon be opening here in Knoxville, so we want to know what the best low-carb 'bargains' are.

Just tell them you want the low carb burger or just order any burger and don't eat the buns. Also, they will substitute a side salad for the fries. I never order anything but a burger in RR so I have no recollection of any other low carb options there.

It is ALL about the insulin. Everyone knows that but 'can't we all get along' Ornish. Atkins got it. Ornish doesn't have a clue.
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-17-2008 11:21 PM


Advanced Low-Carber


I haven't been to Red Robin since doing low carb (several years ago). We got one last summer here and I haven't wanted to go there because I love their onion rings! Didn't know if I wanted to fight temptation but maybe I will try a low carb burger sometime.

Mary
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-24-2008 05:26 PM


Expert Low-Carber


The Ensenada chicken platter is pretty good if you don't eat the little bowls that the ranch dressing and salsa comes in. It is a chicken breast with chili seasoning. Sour cream, ranch dressing and salsa comes with it. I dip pieces of chicken in the dressings. A salad is included.
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-24-2008 05:54 PM


Moderator


black57 Wrote:The Ensenada chicken platter is pretty good if you don't eat the little bowls that the ranch dressing and salsa comes in.
I'm not often tempted to eat the serving dishes when I go out to eat, LOL. Please explain. I'm guessing that they might come in little crispy tortilla "bowls" or something like that?

My sites:
Linda's Low Carb Menus & Recipes
In the Kitchen with Linda Blog
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-24-2008 11:37 PM


Expert Low-Carber


MAC Wrote:Red Robin will substitute a side salad for the fries if you ask. I get my burger with a bun and discard the buns as sometimes I want the pickle, tomato, etc. they put on the bun version.

You can get any of their burgers served "protein style", wrapped in lettuce leaves. I've had the guacamole bacon burger for instance. You can get all the fixins - pickles, mayo, onions, tomatoes, etc. And it comes with a salad too. Red Robin is one of my favorite places.

Marie
RE: Restaurant Review: Red Robin , 09-24-2008 11:42 PM


Expert Low-Carber


MarieD Wrote:
MAC Wrote:Red Robin will substitute a side salad for the fries if you ask. I get my burger with a bun and discard the buns as sometimes I want the pickle, tomato, etc. they put on the bun version.

You can get any of their burgers served "protein style", wrapped in lettuce leaves. I've had the guacamole bacon burger for instance. You can get all the fixins - pickles, mayo, onions, tomatoes, etc. And it comes with a salad too. Red Robin is one of my favorite places.

Marie

Good to know. I made an assumption that RR does what Outback does when your order the low carb version, namely, they don't give you the pickle, tomato, and onion that they do when the bun is included.

It is ALL about the insulin. Everyone knows that but 'can't we all get along' Ornish. Atkins got it. Ornish doesn't have a clue.