KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce
KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 04-28-2008 08:01 PM


Moderator




I buy this at Wal-Mart for about $1.44 bottle. They've changed the label recently so I'm not sure if it looks just like the photo. Just look for the one called "Classic Blend".

Ingredients: tomato puree (water, tomato paste), water vinegar, salt, spices, natural flavors, modified food starch, dried garlic, dried onion, sodium benzoate, tortulla yeast, maltodextrin, xanthan gum, red 40, blue 1, sucralose, acesulfame potassium, caramel color, turmeric, paprika extracts

2 tablespoons = 2g Carbohydrate; 0g Dietary Fiber; 2g Net Carbs

My sites:
Linda's Low Carb Menus & Recipes
In the Kitchen with Linda Blog
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 04-28-2008 08:02 PM


Moderator


Quote:ChrissyLizzy Oct 2 2007, 10:00am

I think I remember this was under $2 but VERY tasty and thick like regular BBQ sauce but without all that added sugar... much better than any other that I've tried.

It's in a blue/yellow bottle, and I can ususally find it at my HEB.

Serving size: 2 tbls, Calories 10, Total fat 0, Total Carbs 2g, Protein 0, Net carbs 2g

Quote:Hogsfan Oct 2 2007, 5:45pm

This just may be my favorite low carb product in the entire world (especially since it's so much cheaper in comparison to chocoperfection...my second favorite based purely on the fact that they are expensive .

I love, love, love to bbq. In fact, I just took two pork shoulder roasts (pulled pork) and a brisket out of my smoker about an hour ago.

KC masterpiece has always been my favorite bbq sauce so I was very thrilled to see a low carb version (It says "low calorie" on the outside). I'm going to be honest here. The low cal stuff is NOT as good as the real thing. It does have a very similar flavor to the real thing, it just has the familiar Splenda-esk finish that doesn't taste quite the same as the real thing at the end...but it's still darn good (If you don't understand what I mean by that "Splenda finish" or have been doing LC so long that you don't even recognize it anymore then you are going to love this product even more! )

This is a great product if you are doing life LC and love KCM and good homemade bbq.

Quote:OceanBlue Oct 10 2007, 8:40pm


Quote:FormerDonutJunkie Oct 10 2007, 10:14pm

I've definitely noticed the Splenda-esk finish to the KC LowCal BBQ Sauce. I too love the original, but the low cal just doesn't have that same flavor. I think it might be the molasses or something.

It is sad that out of all the shelves of BBQ sauce at Wally World there is only that one KC low cal! How sad!

Surely there is someone out there that makes a really good BBQ sauce with little or no sugar. I am a BBQ lover myself and this is one thing I really miss. I am on my second bottle of the KC, but I'd switch if I could find something better. Perhaps I'll have to try brewing my own.

Ron, aka The Former Donut Junkie

Quote:LindaSue Oct 11 2007, 4:15pm

I like to use KC Masterpiece to make this tasty sauce to put on burgers:



CREAMY BBQ SAUCE
1 tablespoon low carb barbecue sauce
1 tablespoon mayonnaise
1/8 teaspoon granular Splenda, or to taste (I use a little more than this most of the time)

My sites:
Linda's Low Carb Menus & Recipes
In the Kitchen with Linda Blog
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-01-2008 07:44 AM


Expert Low-Carber


LindaSue Wrote:

I buy this at Wal-Mart for about $1.44 bottle. They've changed the label recently so I'm not sure if it looks just like the photo. Just look for the one called "Classic Blend".

Ingredients: tomato puree (water, tomato paste), water vinegar, salt, spices, natural flavors, modified food starch, dried garlic, dried onion, sodium benzoate, tortulla yeast, maltodextrin, xanthan gum, red 40, blue 1, sucralose, acesulfame potassium, caramel color, turmeric, paprika extracts

2 tablespoons = 2g Carbohydrate; 0g Dietary Fiber; 2g Net Carbs

I love this sauce. One of my favorite uses is to take a large pork shoulder (5+ lbs), rub it with cajun seasoning and garlic, smoke it on low for about 6 hours until it is ready to fall apart, and then refrigerate until the next morning. In the morning I put the smoked pork in my crockpot, add a bottle of the sauce and cook on low all day. This makes the best pulled pork, especially with low carb coleslaw. Great to take to work for lunch.
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-01-2008 08:01 PM


Moderator


Linda, thanks for re-posting on KC Masterpiece BBQ Classic Blend. This is a staple at my house as I am a BBQ nut! I enjoy good BBQ anywhere, anytime, but it's not always LC due to the sauce, but I've been known to splurge if it's an exceptional BBQ joint.

Ron aka "The Former Donut Junkie"



My Life Without Donuts Blog
My FaceBook Page
The Just This One Taste rationalization is the Kiss of Death to the success of your journey to healthy living! ~~Dr. Atkins
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-01-2008 08:05 PM


Expert Low-Carber


I am looking forward to trying this product especially now that we are firing up the grills.
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-02-2008 01:05 PM


Newbie Low-Carber


This is no longer available in my city at all. Is anyone else having trouble finding it?
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-02-2008 05:04 PM


Moderator


LCBand-it Wrote:This is no longer available in my city at all. Is anyone else having trouble finding it?
Yes, it's getting harder to find. Wal-Mart doesn't sell it anymore and there's only one store in the area that has it, HEB. I've heard that some Super Target stores carry it but I haven't checked the one in this area because I never shop there.

My sites:
Linda's Low Carb Menus & Recipes
In the Kitchen with Linda Blog
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-02-2008 08:23 PM


Moderator


I've been buying it at Target here. Like many LC products, none of us know how long retailers will continue to stock it.

Ron aka "The Former Donut Junkie"



My Life Without Donuts Blog
My FaceBook Page
The Just This One Taste rationalization is the Kiss of Death to the success of your journey to healthy living! ~~Dr. Atkins
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-03-2008 12:01 PM


Moderator


FormerDonutJunkie Wrote:I've been buying it at Target here. Like many LC products, none of us know how long retailers will continue to stock it.
Which is why some of us are hoarding it, LOL. I've got 11 bottles of it right now!

My sites:
Linda's Low Carb Menus & Recipes
In the Kitchen with Linda Blog
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-03-2008 10:52 PM


Moderator


LindaSue Wrote:
FormerDonutJunkie Wrote:I've been buying it at Target here. Like many LC products, none of us know how long retailers will continue to stock it.
Which is why some of us are hoarding it, LOL. I've got 11 bottles of it right now!

Linda, now we all know why there is a shortage of KC Masterpiece Classic Blend! At least we might be able to buy a bottle from you if they quit making the stuff.

Ron aka "The Former Donut Junkie"



My Life Without Donuts Blog
My FaceBook Page
The Just This One Taste rationalization is the Kiss of Death to the success of your journey to healthy living! ~~Dr. Atkins
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-04-2008 01:18 PM


Moderator


FormerDonutJunkie Wrote:Linda, now we all know why there is a shortage of KC Masterpiece Classic Blend! At least we might be able to buy a bottle from you if they quit making the stuff.
The postage would be outrageous. I don't know how places like Netrition can send orders for only $4.95 shipping. The post office won't mail any kind of package for so little unless it's media.

My sites:
Linda's Low Carb Menus & Recipes
In the Kitchen with Linda Blog
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-04-2008 08:08 PM


Advanced Low-Carber


Crud! I just checked the KC Masterpiece website, and where they show all their sauces, there is no picture of one that says Low Calorie.

Guess I'll be searching far and wide for it tomorrow, so I, too, can stock up.

Barbara
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-04-2008 11:28 PM


Moderator


Barbara, it's still on their site on this page. It's the second from the right in the line-up on this page.

My sites:
Linda's Low Carb Menus & Recipes
In the Kitchen with Linda Blog
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-04-2008 11:34 PM


Moderator


Barbara Wrote:Crud! I just checked the KC Masterpiece website, and where they show all their sauces, there is no picture of one that says Low Calorie.

Guess I'll be searching far and wide for it tomorrow, so I, too, can stock up.

It's now called "Classic Blend".

Ron aka "The Former Donut Junkie"



My Life Without Donuts Blog
My FaceBook Page
The Just This One Taste rationalization is the Kiss of Death to the success of your journey to healthy living! ~~Dr. Atkins
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-05-2008 12:25 AM


Advanced Low-Carber


LindaSue Wrote:Barbara, it's still on their site on this page. It's the second from the right in the line-up on this page.

THANK YOU!!!! (and thanks to you, too, Ron!) When I checked the website, I was looking for the words, "Low Calorie" across the banner, like the one bottle I have. If they're still promoting it on their website, it must still be out there.

I'll see if I can find some tomorrow...

Barbara
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-05-2008 12:38 AM


Advanced Low-Carber


Smokin Joe Jones Sugar Free bbq sauce is AWESOME. I just posted a review on my website about it w/info on where you can get it. I haven't tried the KC brand, doubt if our local Safeway has it as they have done away w/most lc products. But this stuff is AWESOME. I just bought another six jars. BBQ weather here we come. YUMMY

Blessings,
Rachel
http://www.weirdstuffinmydesk.com
Honest product, service and e-tailer reviews!
http://bittenbybooks.com - Book Review Site
Be sure to check out my Low Carb Reviews and say HI!
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-05-2008 01:51 AM


Moderator


weirdstuffinmydesk Wrote:Smokin Joe Jones Sugar Free bbq sauce is AWESOME. I just posted a review on my website about it w/info on where you can get it. I haven't tried the KC brand, doubt if our local Safeway has it as they have done away w/most lc products. But this stuff is AWESOME. I just bought another six jars. BBQ weather here we come. YUMMY

Rachel, I just checked out your blog/site for the first time. First class! As I've said, I'm a BBQ nut! I love the stuff almost anyway it's done, but it's tough finding really good sugar free sauces. Can you elaborate a little more on the taste, texture, spiciness, heat, etc of Smokin' Joe's? Thanks.

Ron aka "The Former Donut Junkie"



My Life Without Donuts Blog
My FaceBook Page
The Just This One Taste rationalization is the Kiss of Death to the success of your journey to healthy living! ~~Dr. Atkins
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-05-2008 02:09 AM


Senior Low-Carber


I thought that the KC brand was a little too spicy. I actually like the Walden Farms kind, but it is a bit watery. I am interested in knowing more about the Smokin Joes Brand.

Barbara, I found mine at the Ticonderoga Super Wal-Mart. (Mine says Low Calorie on it too.)


"Small Bite" Goal:
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-05-2008 11:47 AM


Advanced Low-Carber


minimimi Wrote:I thought that the KC brand was a little too spicy. I actually like the Walden Farms kind, but it is a bit watery. I am interested in knowing more about the Smokin Joes Brand.

Barbara, I found mine at the Ticonderoga Super Wal-Mart. (Mine says Low Calorie on it too.)

Not much is too spicy for me! Thanks for the info about it being available at Super Wal Mart. Unfortunately, I don't get across the lake very often to shop....and I haven't checked around here yet today. Just in from working out, and have got some stuff to do here before I head out.

I, too thought the Walden Farms brand was too watery (and I found it fairly tasteless.) I will order some of the Smokin Joe Jones, though.......this Mississippi girl LOVES her barbeque!

Barbara
RE: KC Masterpiece Low Calorie BBQ Sauce , 05-05-2008 03:18 PM


Junior Low-Carber


Thank goodness I read about this before the old forum went down. And thank goodness our SuperCenter (WM) carries it. Can you believe I went almost a whole year without barbecue sauce?